Rustie’s Glass Swords, already winner of The Guardian‘s First Album Award, is in the running for another major gong.

2012 (the Year Of Creative Scotland, apparently) will see the launch of the inaugural Scottish Album Of The Year award. According to The Quietus, twenty albums have been longlisted. Rustie, Mogwai, and Beta Band’s Steve Mason are all in the running. The list will be whittled down to ten on May 17, with a final winner getting the nod on June 19.

The longlist has been selected from a 100-strong pool collated by industry folk. The SAYs, as they’re destined to go by, are a big deal: the winner will scoop at a Mercury-scale £20,000 prize, and every artist to make the shortlist will grab £1000 each.  A parallel competition is running at The Glasgow School Of Art: each short-listed musician will also nab an artwork from the winning artist. This being the first year, it’ll be interesting to see what sort of precedent the judges want to set – we’ll have to wait till June to see if the SAYs goes in for curveballs, or plays it safe.

The long list is as follows:

6th Borough Project – One Night In the Borough
Bill Wells & Aidan Moffat – Everything’s Getting Older
Bwani Junction – Fully Cocked
Chris Stout’s Brazilian Theory – Live In Concert
Conquering Animal Sound – Kammerspiel
FOUND – factorycraft
Fudge Fingas – Now About How
Happy Particles – Under Sleeping Waves
Jonny – Jonny
King Creosote & Jon Hopkins – Diamond Mine
Mogwai – Hardcore Will Never Die, But You Will
Mungo’s Hi Fi – Forward Ever
Muscles Of Joy – Muscles Of Joy
Remember Remember – The Quickening
Richard Craig – Inward
Rustie – Glass Swords
Steve Mason & Dennis Bovell – Ghosts Outside
Tommy Smith – Karma
Twin Atlantic – Free
We Were Promised Jetpacks – In The Pit Of the Stomach



Share Tweet