Bombay Connection, the label that brought us Charanjit Singh’s Ten Ragas To A Disco Beat, is back with a new compilation, this time focussing on the electronic soundtrack music of Ilaiyaraaja.

“Hard electro-funk and sweet synth-pop are not genres you would expect from India,” says label founder Edo Bouman. “Yet, in the late ’80s electronic beats and synths were eagerly embraced by the film industry of South India along with kung fu fights, aerobics, sunglasses and jogging outfits. The rich and funky Tamil grooves of the early ‘80s transformed into stripped electronic synthesizer music.

For the new CD and double-vinyl compilation, Fire Star: Synth-Pop And Electro-Funk From Tamil Films 1985-1989, Bouman has zoned in on sixteen tracks composed by Ilaiyaraaja, known as ‘The Maestro’, who in this period favoured arrestingly minimal beats and synthetic arrangements. Some of his other work has previously been compiled Finders Keepers.

The limited 2xLP edition of Fire Star comes in a heavy-mounted cardboard sleeve with printed inner sleeves; the CD comes with a 30-page booklet and additional photography.


1. Vikram – Kamal Hassan
2. Adi Rani Mangama – Mano
3. Instrumental Music
4. Baby – Anuradha
5. Pala Rathiri – Vani Jairam, M. Vasudevan & G. Amaran
6. Chittu Kuruvi – S.P. Balasubrahmaniam & S.Janaki
7. Disco King – Yesudas & Vani Jairam
8. Pattu Engey – Malaysia Vasudevan & S. P. Sailaja
9. One Two – Francis Lazarus
10. Raja Rajadhi Raja – Ilaiyaraaja
11. Pavala Malligai – Malaysia Vasudevan & Chithra
12. Ninnukkori – Chitra
13. Love Theme On Computer
14. I Want To Tell You Something – S.P. Balasubrahmaniam
15. Valaiyosai – S.P. Balasubrahmanyam & Lata Mangeshkar
16. Vaa Veliye – S.P. Balasubrahmanyam & Chitra



Share Tweet