As Auntie Flo, Brian d’Souza cooks up some seriously colourful dancefloor fare.

The Glasgow resident really started turning heads with last year’s Goan Highlife EP, a sunny blend of tribal percussion and bright four-to-the-floor house. Singles like ‘Oh My Days’ made their way into Gilles Peterson and Joy Orbison’s record boxes. His sound is exuberant, unapologetic and plenty of fun. d’Souza is set to return with a new mini-album on Huntleys & Palmers, titled Future Rhythm Machine. It’s possibly his most pan-global release yet, and FACT now have an exclusive stream of the record for your delectation.

Chilean singer Mamacita and Springbok-via-Scotland Esa Williams both make vocal appearances. Picked strings, hand drums, monkey yowls and the twinkle of thumb pianos are discernible in the swirl. d’Souza’s avowed influences ranging from “Highlife” to “Kodwo Eshun”, and Future Rhythm Machine is heterogenous as you might expect.

Future Rhythm Machine is due on May 14.

A1. Haven’t Got Any Body
A2. La Samaria (feat. Mamacita)
A3. Yllw Fllw
A4. He Makes The People Come
B1. Can I Have Him
B2. I Want To Blow Your Mind feat. Esa
B3. Train
B4. Futurismo



Share Tweet