Voguish shoegaze duo The Big Pink have offered up something of a Thursday afternoon treat.

The band have made a remix EP of recent material available to download for free. No piddling names here: araabMUZIK, Danny Brown, d’Eon and Forest Swords all feature in the package.

The araabMUZIK cut converts single ‘Stay Gold’ into a fist-shaking call to arms that, oddly enough, falls closer to Clams Casino than it does to rattling trance-hop. Danny Brown pops up on a vocal version, sounding as strangulated and urgent as ever. ‘Hit The Ground (Superman)’ gets a spooky rework from the wonderful Forest Swords, and Canuck loon d’Eon gives ’77’ the Imogen Heap treatment. Gloomy producer and singer Kid Krule also turns ‘Hit The Ground (Superman)’ inside out.

The band’s sophomore LP Future This didn’t exactly blast our socks off, but they’re definitely back in our good books now. Click below to download the EP.

Future This – Remixes EP
1. ’77 (d’Eon remix)’
2. ‘Stay Gold (AraabmuziK feat. Danny Brown remix)’
3. ‘Stay Gold (AraabmuziK remix)’
4. ‘Hit The Ground (Superman) (Forest Swords remix)’
5. ‘Hit The Ground (Superman) (King Krule remix)’




Share Tweet