One man b(r)and Chilly Gonzales is an interesting proposition.

The Canadian started life in alt.rock combo Son in the Nineties, then reinvented himself as a loopy trash-talking rapper and some-time electronic producer. In recent years, he’s made a substantial name for himself as a regular Feist collaborator, and has also worked with electro harlot Peaches. He also memorably broke the Guinness World Record for the world’s longest solo artist performance in 2009, playing the piano in Paris for 27 hours, 3 minutes and 44 seconds. His most recent record, last year’s The Unspeakable Chilly Gonzales, was a schticky fusion of orchestral textures and screwball Mcing.

As Exclaim note, Gonzales will release a new album of solo piano compositions later this year. Solo Piano II will arrive on Arts & Crafts in August, and will feature 14 instrumental cuts. The record is a spiritual sequel to 2004’s Solo Piano LP. Gonzales laid the album down over ten days in Paris, reportedly playing the songs “over and over and over again, until each one’s essence has been captured”. The process purportedly offered the “purest and most microscopic process of recording,”

Solo Piano II is due on August 28.

Solo Piano II:
1. White Keys
2. Kenaston
3. Minor Fantasy
4. Escher
5. Rideaux Lunaires
6. Nero’s Nocturne
7. Venitian Blinds
8. Evolving Doors
9. Epigram in E
10. Othello
11. Train of Thought
12. Wintermezzo
13. La Bulle
14. Papa Gavotte



Share Tweet