On June 25, Strut Records will release a new compilation, This Ain’t Chicago: The Underground Sound of UK House & Acid 1987-1991.

Compiled by Richard Sen, best known for his work as one half of Padded Cell and Bronx Dogs, This Ain’t Chicago celebrates the first wave of homegrown UK dance music created in direct response to the first acid house records imported from America’s Midwest, the sounds of which were beginning to spread in the late 1980s via clubs like Shoom, Spectrum, The Hacienda’s Nude night and The Jungle.

Sen has selected 25 “classics and should-be classics” to be released on CD, gatefold 2xLP and digital, with extensive liner notes. Some of the more famous names featured include Andrew Weatherall, J. Saul Kane, Paul Rutherford, Bizarre Inc, Baby Ford and A Guy Called Gerald. Full tracklist below.


1. Bang The Party – Bang Bang You’re Mine (full vocal remix)
2. Window Smashers – Free to Be
3. Julian Jonah – Jealousy and Lies
4. Baby Ford – Crashing
5. Man With No Name – From Within the Mind of My 909
6. Rio Rhythm Band – Cuba Jakkin’
7. Playtime Toons – Shaker Song
8. Jail Break – Mentality
9. Exocet – Safety Zone
10. Return of the Living Acid – Twin Tub
11. Cxx – the comfort of strangers (mix by Rhythm Doctor – Richard Sen edit)
12. Julie Stapleton – Where’s the Love Gone (Remix)
13. Rohan Delano – Inflight

1. Sly and Lovechild – The World According to Sly & Lovechild (Andrew Weatherall Soul of Europe mix)
2. Ability II – Pressure Dub
3. Static – iron orbit (J. Saul Kane mix)
4. M. D. Emm – 1666 (Pyro-maniac mix)
5. Colm III – Take Me High (Mansion mix)
6. S.L.F. – Show Me What You Got
7. Paul rutherford – get real (happy house mix)
8. Bizarre Inc – Technological
9. Us – Born in the North
10. Annette – Dream 17

Digital only:
A Guy Called Gerald – Specific Hate
This Ain’t Chicago – Ride the Rhythm



Share Tweet