Grass Widow’s new album, Internal Logic, feels like it was made for these humid summer months.

The record, the band’s third LP proper, arrives two years after their well-received effort for Kill Rock Stars, Past Time. The familiar Grass Widow sound is intact and largely unchanged for Internal Logic, but it undoubtedly feels more confidently and coherently expressed than before – the vocal harmonies are tight, the hooks plentiful, the compression of energy into short, sharp songs remarkable.

It would be easy to file Internal Logic alongside recent efforts from Novella, Veronica Falls, Dum Dum Girls and the like, but to our ears Grass Widow are a more accomplished, and somehow more genuine, proposition than any of their immediate peers. Their inspiration is obvious – the shambling indie-pop that came out of early K Records and the UK’s post-C86 underground – but at least they have the tenacity, not to mention the ability, to have created an album actually comparable with, rather than merely a footnote to, those of their heroes. Stream opening track ‘Goldilocks Zone’ via the Soundcloud player above.

The album is out now on Grass Widow’s own HLR label. Stateside readers can catch them on their current US tour: Detroit (PJ’s Lager House, June 1), Chicago (Beat Kitchen, June 2), Iowa (Gabe’s Oasis, June 3), Nashville (FooBar, June 6), East Alanta (The Earl, June 8), Durham (The Pinhook, June 10), Toronto (The Garrison, June 14), Brooklyn (Knitting Factory, June 16), San Diego (Casbah, July 13) and Pomona (The Glass House, July 14).


A1 Goldilocks Zone
A2 Hang Around
A3 Milo Minute
A4 Under The Atmosphere
A5 Disappearing Industries
A6 A Light In The Static
B1 Spock On Muni
B2 Advice
B3 Cover You
B4 Whistling In The Dark
B5 Response To Photographs



Share Tweet