Straight off the back of Mahogoni’s Dillatroit release comes details of this month’s posthumous J Dilla record.

As Exclaim report, The Rebirth Of Detroit will be the inaugural release from Ruff Draft Records, founded and helmed by Dilla’s mother. As if to emphasise the family connection, the front cover pictures a cutesy image of an infant Dilla.

A stack of guest names appear. Danny Brown, collaborator du jour, and Chuck Inglish from The Cool Kids are both slated to feature. Dilla associates and regular collaborators Phat Kat, Illa J, and Guilty Simpson all feature, ask does Amp Fiddler. The full list, which is about as long as your arm, is available to peruse below.

The Rebirth Of Detroit is due on June 12 on CD. A vinyl edition is also due, although no dates had been announced.

The Rebirth of Detroit tracklisting:
1. “The New Installment” (Intro)
2. “Detroit Madness” (ft. Phat Kat)
3. “Big Thangs” (ft. Esham)
4. “Ride (ft. It” (ft. Tha Almighty Dreadnaughtz)
5. “Say My Name” (ft. LaPeace, Moe Dirdee and Seven The General)
6. “Detroit Game” (ft. Chuck Inglish (COOL KIDS) and Boldy James)
7. “Feel this Shit” (ft. KetchPhraze)
8. “City of Boom” (ft. Loe Louis and Beej)
9. “Let’s Pray Together” (ft. Amp Fiddler)
10. “Requiem” (ft. Allan Barnes of The Blackbyrds)
11. “Do It Right” (ft. Fat Ray, VStylez and Soul Man of A.W.O.L.)
12. “My Victory” (ft. Boldy James)
13. “Rebirth is Necessary” (ft. Tone Plummer and Mr. Wrong)
14. “DILLATROIT” (ft. Supa Emcee, Nick Speed and Guilty Simpson)
15. “Center of The Movement” (ft. 5ELA and Pierre Anthony)
16. “Pitfalls” (ft. Fat Ray, LaPeace and Loe Louis)
17. “Do It For Dilla Dawg” (ft. Illa J and Frank Nitt of CAKE BOYS)
18. “Jay Dee’s Revenge” (ft. Danny Brown and DJ DEZ)
19. “Motor City Sparks” (ft. Corey Sparks and Beej)
20. “House Shoes Was Spinnin” (ft. Quelle Chris)
21. “The Best That Ever Did It” (ft. Jon C and Allan Barnes of The Blackbyrds)



Share Tweet