Having previously aired ‘Detroit Game’, we can now unveil a full stream of posthumous J Dilla record Rebirth Of Detroit.

The album is the first release on Ruff Draft, the label run by Dilla’s mother Ma Dukes. The enviable cast list includes Danny Brown, Phat Kat, Guilty Simpson, The Cool Kids’ Chuck English and Illa J. You can sample the LP in its entirety below: a preliminary listen suggests a familiar mix of earthy head-snap and twitchy digital scribbles.

Dilla passed away after a battle with lupus aged 32. Since his death, the Detroit native has been widely canonized as probably the definitive hip-hop producer of his generation. It’s not the first Dilla tribute to drop this quarter: Mahogoni released the Dillatroit compilation at the tail end of May.

The Rebirth Of Detroit is out now on CD, with a vinyl edition to follow.

The Rebirth of Detroit tracklisting:
1. “The New Installment” (Intro)
2. “Detroit Madness” (ft. Phat Kat)
3. “Big Thangs” (ft. Esham)
4. “Ride (ft. It” (ft. Tha Almighty Dreadnaughtz)
5. “Say My Name” (ft. LaPeace, Moe Dirdee and Seven The General)
6. “Detroit Game” (ft. Chuck Inglish (COOL KIDS) and Boldy James)
7. “Feel this Shit” (ft. KetchPhraze)
8. “City of Boom” (ft. Loe Louis and Beej)
9. “Let’s Pray Together” (ft. Amp Fiddler)
10. “Requiem” (ft. Allan Barnes of The Blackbyrds)
11. “Do It Right” (ft. Fat Ray, VStylez and Soul Man of A.W.O.L.)
12. “My Victory” (ft. Boldy James)
13. “Rebirth is Necessary” (ft. Tone Plummer and Mr. Wrong)
14. “DILLATROIT” (ft. Supa Emcee, Nick Speed and Guilty Simpson)
15. “Center of The Movement” (ft. 5ELA and Pierre Anthony)
16. “Pitfalls” (ft. Fat Ray, LaPeace and Loe Louis)
17. “Do It For Dilla Dawg” (ft. Illa J and Frank Nitt of CAKE BOYS)
18. “Jay Dee’s Revenge” (ft. Danny Brown and DJ DEZ)
19. “Motor City Sparks” (ft. Corey Sparks and Beej)
20. “House Shoes Was Spinnin” (ft. Quelle Chris)
21. “The Best That Ever Did It” (ft. Jon C and Allan Barnes of The Blackbyrds)



Share Tweet