Next month, lo-fi sprite John Maus will release an anthology of lost or discarded material from his archives.

The theorist-cum-popstar will drop A Collection of Rarities and Previously Unreleased Material through Domino subset Ribbon. The set will arrive arrive on July 16 on LP, CD and digital download. Turner Prize winner Wolfgang Tillmans has designed some rather splendid cover art for the set, and the LP will be limited to 3000 copies (with 500 printed on special translucent pink vinyl). We’ve already heard a few cuts from the record, and ‘Bennington’ is the latest to hit the web.

Unlike the all-enveloping ‘No Title (Molly), ‘Bennington’ is a prim, icy number. Maus, never one to shy away from a sugary melody line, kicks out a hook that’s bolder than anything on 2007’s sort-of contemporaneous Love Is Real. Wonderfully unabashed pop fare, touched by the hand of Hannett.

Maus has also just announced a date at London’s Scala on August 14. The tracklisting for the album is below.

1. North Star (2008)
2. The Law (2003)
3. Castles in the Grave (2010)
4. Angel of the Night (2010)
5. Mental Breakdown (2004)
6. Bennington (2007)
7. Big Dumb Man (2003)
8. No Title (Molly) (2008)
9. Lost (2003)
10. All Aboard (2007)
11. This is The Beat (2005)
12. My Hatred is Magnificent (2008)
13. The Fear (2003)
14. Fish With Broken Dreams (1999)
15. Rock the Bone (2008)
16. I Don’t Eat Human Beings (2008)



Share Tweet