Adrian Sherwood announces new album <em>Survival & Resistance</em>

After some rooting around in the FACT archives, we recently pulled out Mark Fisher’s excellent appraisal of British dub legend Adrian Sherwood

Through his On-U Sound label, Sherwood has long been the pre-eminent figure in homegrown dub music. Back in the early 1980s, his Singers & Players project provided a vehicle for bigwigs like Mikey Dread and Prince Far I, and he went on to rejuvenate Lee ‘Scratch’ Perry’s career through his work on the 1986 album Time Boom X De Devil Dead. He’s also frequently ventured outside of the parameters of dub, remixing Depeche Mode and Nine Inch Nails and working with Ministry and Cabaret Voltaire. On-U Sound, meanwhile, has provided an outlet for the likes of Ari Up, Mark Stewart and Asian Dub Foundation, as well as countless others.

On-U Sound will release Survival & Resistance in August. Survival & Resistance will be Sherwood’s first solo album since 2006’s Becoming A Cliche, although he teamed up with Perry again on 2009’s Dub Setter for Basic Records. The new album is reportedly a darker beast than its predecessor, and is set to feature his own vocals.

1. Balance
2. Trapped Here
3. U.R.Sound
4. Starship Bahia
5. Effective
6. We Flick The Switch
7. Bossa 2
8. Two Semitones and a Raver
9. Last Queen of England
10. Greenleaves



Share Tweet