Purposeful/po-faced (delete as applicable) rapper Talib Kweli will be releasing a brace of new material in 2012.

Having released Gutter Rainbows last year, Kweli’s been doing the rounds in the reunited Black Star with Mos Def (or, as he’s calling himself these days, Yasiin Bey). As a precursor to forthcoming solo LP Prisoner Of Conscious, Kweli has revealed on Twitter that a new mixtape is also in gestation.

Production on Attack The Block will come courtesy of 9th Wonder, Oh No, Charlemagne and 88 Keys, amongst others. Ab Soul, Jay Rock, Rah Digga and Ryan Leslie are all set to feature, as is Black Thought. Kweli’s transmissions read as follows:

“Gonna drop a track off my mixtape this week. Trying to decide which one. #attacktheblock”

“#attacktheblock features production from EJones, Symbolic1, Charlemagne, 9thWonder, 88Keys, OhNo plus I’m going in over instrumentals…”

“#attacktheblock features BlackThought, Ryan Leslie, Rah Digga, Ab Soul, Jay Rock, Jae Millz, SkyZoo, John Forte, Fashawn, Maino & more!”

“Yup. Stacking ammo.”

No exact news at to when Attack The Block will drop, but we’re expecting it to arrive fairly imminently.



Share Tweet