New details have flooded in about production triumvirate LV’s first album for Hyperdub.

Routes, their 2011 Keysound LP with Joshua Idehen, took its sonic palette and thematic inspiration from the bustle of London. New record Sebenza, meanwhile, sees the band capitalising on two trips to South Africa, tricking out their brittle homegrown dance music with Afrocentric tropes.

Sebenza, we now know, will arrive on August 27. Although the album isn’t being billed as a collaborative effort in the same way that Routes was, Sebenza features a very small circle of South African collaborators: Okmalumkoolkat takes the lead on eight of the fourteen tracks, with Ruffest and Spoek Mathambo taking turns on the remaining cuts.

If you’re chomping at the bit to hear their kwaito-meets-UK-Funky sound, you can watch the video for sprightly Track 1 ‘Sebenza’ below. The track also featured on the band’s recent Hyperdub EP Get A Grip. [Resident Advisor]


01. LV feat. Okmalumkoolkat – Sebenza
02. LV feat. Okmalumkoolkat – Animal Prints
03. LV feat. Okmalumkoolkat – DL
04. LV feat. Spoek Mathambo – Limb
05. LV feat. Okmalumkoolkat – Zulu Compurar
06. LV feat. Ruffest – Hustla
07. LV feat. Ruffest – Nothing Like Us
08. LV feat. Ruffest – Thatha Lo
09. LV feat. Okmalumkoolkat – Safe and Sound
10. LV feat. Okmalumkoolkat – Primus Stove
11. LV feat. Okmalumkoolkat – International Pantsula
12. LV feat. Okmalumkoolkat – Spitting Cobra
13. LV feat. Spoek Mathambo – Work
14. LV feat. Ruffest – Ultando Lwaka




Share Tweet