J:Kenzo, purveyor of measured and delicate dubstep, has announced his debut LP for Tempa.

The Kent producer’s music – clean, enveloping, full of negative space – falls somewhere between Shackleton’s brittle jangle and the earliest transmissions from Croydon’s first wave. After a host of promising releases on the likes of Kicks & Snares and Dub Police, debut album J:Kenzo will arrive on Tempa in September. Pulsing calling card ‘Ruff House’ and the Rihanna-augmented ‘Eyes Wide Open’ are among its eleven tracks.

J:Kenzo is unambiguous about what to expect from the record: “It is dubstep. Some people like to call it different names – dungeon, stuff like that. But to me it’s dubstep, like it was when it first came out. Stripped down beats and bass, quite simply”.

J:Kenzo is due on September 24 on CD and digital. You can read our recent sit-down with J:Kenzo here.

1. Statement Of Intent
2. Eyes Wide Open ft. Rihanna
3. Semtex
4. Invaderz
5. Ruff House feat. Rod Azlan
6. No Man’s Land ft. Footsie
7. Reconstruct
8. Contagion
9. Body Heat
10. Ironclad
11. Holocron



Share Tweet