Following on from The Chemical Brothers’ ode to cycling, Underworld have now announced a release date for their forthcoming Olympic Games commission.

Under the charge of executive director Danny Boyle, Messrs Hyde and Smith are set to serve as musical directors for the opening ceremony of the Games on July 28. An official release has now been confirmed for the pair’s new composition.

Isle Of Wonder: Music For The Opening Ceremony Of The London 2012 Olympic Games will get a physical issue on August 6, courtesy of Decca/Universal. For those hankering to relive the pageantry sooner than that, the soundtrack will also be released digitally at midnight on July 28 through iTunes.

Underworld, of course, have collaborated with Boyle many times before. ‘Born Slippy’ became the de facto theme tune for 1996’s Trainspotting, and the pair also took charge on the OST for Boyle’s 2007 film Sunshine. They also wrote the music for Boyle’s highly successful (and, to be frank, fairly risible) stage version of Frankenstein. Other treats at the opening ceremony allegedly include nine geese and an appearance by Daniel Craig. [via Pitchfork]



Share Tweet