Psychotic Australian schlock-punks The Birthday Party have rarely sounded as potent as on Junkyard.

Originally released in 1982, Junkyard is the band’s second album proper under the Birthday Party moniker. More so than their 1981 debut Prayers On Fire, Junkyard offers a masterful synthesis of raw skronk rock and the sort of absurdist psych you’d expect from Beefheart and Zappa. Prickly and tightly sprung, it shows both Cave and his players on wonderfully volatile form.

On August 27, Indie institution 4AD are set to give Junkyard a 30th birthday reissue on CD and vinyl. The vinyl edition of Junkyard will come bolstered by a supplementary 7″, featuring single ‘Release The Bats’/’Blast Off’. Fret not, phonographophobes : the CD edition will also feature the above tracks. [via Pitchfork]

1. She’s Hit
2. Dead Joe
3. The Dim Locator
4. Hamlet (Pow, Pow, Pow)
5. Several Sins
6. Big-Jesus-Trash-Can
7. Kiss Me Black
8. 6″ Gold Blade
9. Kewpie Doll
10. JunkYard
11. Release the Bats [bonus]
12. Blast Off [bonus]



Share Tweet