British techno institution and Sandwell District founder Regis this week releases a compilation of rare tracks that he produced in the late 90s.

Death Head Said compiles tracks from the ‘Death Head’ Sessions, which began live as dub-plates used for Regis live shows, and which later appeared in condensed form on the 2000 12″ A Disintegration Of Our Faith (credited to Karl O’Connor, Peter Sutton and Ian J. Richardson). According to Downwards, the original loops “were used to layer over live electronics and are all interlocking pieces that were constructed to be played back to back.”

Also released this month: a 2×12″ reissue of Regis’s classic 1998 LP of industrial techno, Delivered Into The Hands Of Indifference. Along with O’Connor and Peter Sutton’s Againstnature, and Surgeon’s Communications, this is one of the key artifacts of the hard-edged “Birmingham sound” that emerged in the mid-late 1990s. The “collectible re-press reissue” from Downwards is limited to just 200 copies.

The 7-track Death Head Said and Delivered Into The Hands Of Indifference are both available now on 2×12″, with cheep but cheerful sticker artwork. You can order them and listen to samples here.

Death Head Said tracklist:
A1. Death Head Said
A2. Absolute
B1. Baptism (Extended Version)
C1. Death Head Said (Extended Version)
C2. Assume Nothing
D1. VD Hospital
D2. Unnatural

Delivered Into The Hands Of Indifference tracklist:
A1. Hands of a Stranger
A2. Body Unknown
B1. Disease Through Affection
B2. Barriers
C. Concentrate
D1. Escape From Yourself
D2. Indifference



Share Tweet