Max Richter takes on Vivaldi's <i>Four Seasons</i>

German composer Max Richter will reinterpret Vivaldi’s Four Seasons on the latest instalment of Deutsche Grammophon’s Recomposed series.

One of the most celebrated modern composers, Richter has released several albums for Fat Cat, and scored for several films and documentaries, most notably Ari Folman’s Golden Globe winning Waltz with Bashir. Richter fans will have also noticed his piece ‘Sarajevo’ on the trailer for Ridley Scott’s Prometheus.

Four Seasons is, of course, one of the most recognisable classical pieces of all time. Speaking about the project, Richter claims “you can’t get away from the piece. It’s part of the musical landscape, and a part of my own daily life. I hear it all the time in supermarkets, I have to endure it whenever I make a phone call and I’m put on hold, and it’s always turning up in TV ads.” Richter has always had an open interest with music used in this way– on previous album 24 Postcards in Full Colour, he approached the ringtone format from a classical perspective.

Richter’s reinterpretation is performed with English violinist Daniel Hope, German conductor André Ridder and the Konzerthaus Kammerorchester Berlin. Past contributions to the Recomposed series have featured Carl Craig, recent FACT TV subject Matthew Herbert and more [via RA].


01. Spring 0
02. Spring 1
03. Spring 2
04. Spring 3
05. Summer 1
06. Summer 2
07. Summer 3
08. Autumn 1
09. Autumn 2
10. Autumn 3
11. Winter 1
12. Winter 2
13. Winter 3



Share Tweet