Blur release potential last ever concert as <i>Parklive</i>, the album

For the last fortnight, the press has been wild with speculation that this weekend’s Blur concert was the Britpop band’s last.

Not part of the Olympics closing ceremony, the gig (which also featured The Specials and New Order) was nonetheless an Olympic event, taking place at Hyde Park at the same time as the closing ceremony. At this point we’ve heard varying things from different members of Blur as regards the group’s future, but releasing this concert as a live album would surely add fuel to the flames.

Consider them fueled, then: Parklive is available to buy on iTunes now, will be available to order as a triple-CD set from Blur’s website next week (two CDs comprise the live show; the third is a bonus disc of unreleased live tracks from recent warm up shows),  and finally will be released as a deluxe 5-CD/DVD package in November, featuring a DVD film of the concert, a CD of tracks recorded at London’s 100 Club, and a hardback photo book. Seems excessive if it’s Just Another Gig, right?

Blur, of course, aren’t shy of releasing big packages: last month, 21 comprised the band’s studio output in a deluxe box-set. You can read FACT’s song-by-song review of the official Olympics closing ceremony here.

Parklive CD 1:
01 Girls & Boys
02 London Loves
03 Tracy Jacks
04 Jubilee
05 Beetlebum
06 Coffee and TV
07 Out Of Time
08 Young and Lovely
09 Trimm Trabb
10 Caramel
11 Sunday Sunday
12 Country House
13 Parklife [feat. Phil Daniels]

Parklive CD 2:
01 Colin Zeal
02 Popscene
03 Advert
04 Song 2
05 No Distance Left To Run
06 Tender
07 This is a Low
08 Sing
09 Under the Westway / Commercial Break
10 End Of a Century
11 For Tomorrow
12 The Universal



Share Tweet