Massive Attack announce specially remastered Blue Lines reissue

Massive Attack’s Blue Lines might have lost its place to Mezzanine in our Best Albums Of The 1990s rundown, but it’s still, undeniably, a stone-cold classic.

The crew’s 1991 debut was a wonderful consolidation of their work as The Wild Bunch over the preceding decade. A creolized set of reggae, hip-hop and electro, it remains one of the landmark full-lengths of the period, not least for introducing Tricky, Shara Nelson and, to an extent, British soundsytem culture to the world at large.

21 years down the line, Clash report that Massive Attack have produced a fully remastered version of the record. The new edition was worked up in the band’s Bristol studio, and was pieced together using the original master tapes.

The remastered Blue Lines will be available on single CD, and will also be released as a standard or hi-res digital download. More discerning fans can enjoy a Box Set edition, featuring: a 96k/24bit hi-res audio DVD; two 180g vinyl LPs; the original 24″ x 18″ promo poster for the record; and a CD version of the record.

Blue Lines is due on November 19. The tracklisting is below, as is album opener ‘Safe From Harm’.

Safe From Harm
One Love
Blue Lines
Be Thankful For What You’ve Got
Five Man Army
Unfinished Sympathy
Hymn Of The Big Wheel

A1. Safe From Harm
A2. One Love
A3. Blue Lines
B1. Be Thankful For What You’ve Got
B2. Five Man Army
C1. Unfinished Sympathy
C2. Daydreaming
D1. Lately
D2. Hymn Of The Big Wheel



Share Tweet