Major Lazer's new album pushed back to 2013

Major Lazer Frees The Universe, the new LP from Diplo’s dancehall-inflected Major Lazer project, has had its release date pushed back – and by quite some way, too. 

The follow-up to 2009’s Guns Don’t Kill People… Lazers Do was originally scheduled for release on November 6. It seems like best-laid plans have gone awry, however, as the record now won’t be on shelves until February 2013. Wyclef Jean, Flux Pavilion, Shaggy, Vampire Weekend’s Ezra Koenig, Dirty Projectors’ Amber Coffman, Tyga, Dev, Wynter Gordon and Bruno Mars are all confirmed to feature on the finished product. [via Complex]

Major Lazer Frees The Universe all drop on February 19 2013 on Mad Decent/Downtown. Major Lazer will also be hosting a stage at the forthcoming Red Bull Culture Clash this November.

You can watch the splendid video to recent track ‘Get Free’ below.



Share Tweet