Pinch readies new album, <i>MIA</i>

This November one of Bristol dubstep’s loyalist servants, Pinch, will release a new album, MIA 2006-2010. 

Sadly, this isn’t designed as a full follow-up to Underwater Dancehall, Pinch’s often breathtaking debut album, instead, it’s a chance to tie up some loose ends, and collect the best of Pinch’s “non-label tracks [as in, material not released on Pinch’s own label Tectonic] and remixes” recorded in the time since.

Opening with the VIP mix of classic Pinch single ‘Qawwali’, MIA features work for labels like Planet Mu (‘Cave Dream’, ‘Attack of the Giant Killer Robot Spiders’), Swamp81 (‘Elements’ – the B-side to the 2010’s brilliant ‘Croydon House’), Soul Jazz (‘Chamber Dub’), Punch Drunk (‘136 Trek)’ and remixes of Emika and Qawwali vocalist Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan. There’s also room for a previously unreleased track from 2004, ‘Deserted Island’.

Tectonic will release MIA on November 19, on CD and digital download formats.

1. Qawwali VIP (Planet Mu ‘06)
2. Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan & Ghaudi ‘Dil Da Rog Muka Ja Mali’ [Pinch Remix] (Six DegreesRecords ‘07)
3. Chamber Dub (Soul Jazz Records ‘07)
4. Cave Dream (Planet Mu ‘07)
5. 136 Trek (Punch Drunk ‘08)
6. 30Hz ‘Mutate(d)’ [Pinch Re-Work] (Lot49 ‘08)
7. E.motive (Planet Mu ‘08)8. Motion Sickness (Tempa ‘08)
9. Attack Of The Giant Killer Robot Spiders (Planet Mu ‘09)
10. Henry & Louis ft Steve Harper ‘Rise Up’ (2Kings ‘09)
11. Elements (Swamp 81 ‘10 – CD only)
12. Emika ‘Double Edge’ [Pinch Remix] (Ninja Tune ‘10)
– Deserted Island (Previously unreleased bonus track ‘04)



Share Tweet