Chicago legend Derrick Carter preps House Masters compilation, announces tour dates

Defected releases a clutch of previously unreleased cuts and edits from the Chicago king.

House Masters Derrick Carter includes over 15 previously unreleased cuts and edits which previously would only have been found in Derrick’s own personal collection.

“Choosing the material for this compilation was an experience for sure,” says Carter. The compilation process was “sometimes taxing and frustrating but also fun and exciting.” In the search for forgotten songs, Carter and company scoured old DATs and hard-drives; Carter says he “rediscovered some gems, ran into a few old friends, and had a blast” while creating this career retrospective.

The compilation is out on November 12 via Defected. In addition, Carter will be touring Europe into the new year, including a previously announced gig at the Warehouse Project. Full details are below, along with a stream of Carter’s ‘Where U At?’

CD1 (Originals)
01. Sound Patrol ‘Tripping Among The Stars’ (Trippin’ At The Kat)
02. Rednail featuring Noni ‘Never’ (Never In A Rubber Room)
03. DJ Bang ‘DJ Bang Make You Jiu-Jitsu’ (Technical)
04. DJ Bang ‘Hallelujah’ (DC Private Edit)
05. The Innocent ‘Theme From The Blue Cucaracha’ (DC Private Edit)
06. Derrick L. Carter ‘A Hope (Over You)’ (Meeting House Dub Edit)
07. Derrick L. Carter ‘Squaredancin’ (Jazzz Extension)
08. Derrick L. Carter ‘Where U At?’ (The First Mix)
09. DJ Bang ‘The B.E.A.T’. (DC Private Edit)
10. Oneiro ‘The Warrior’ (6BC Version)

CD2 (Remixes)
01. SoCalled ‘(These Are The) Good Old Days’ (DC’s BHQ Remake)
02. Freaks ‘Telefunky’ (B.H.Q. Low Mainetnance Reversion)
03. Truman Industries ‘Love Plus’ (Derrick Carter’s ‘Love Groove’ Mix)
04. Freaks ‘Boiling Point’ (BHQ Private Stock)
05. Angry Mexican DJ’s ‘I Like It Funky’ (Derrick Carter’s B.H.Q Re-Rub)
06. Pty Ltd ‘Who’s Been Watching You?’ (DC Native Dub)
07. Rosie Brown ‘Bliss’ (D’s Boom Bap Bleep Edition)
08. SoCalled ‘Richi’ (DC’s Full Phat Edition)
09. This Ain’t Chicago ‘Ride The Rhythm’ (Derrick Carter Mix)
10. Jorge Watts ‘Up To The Sky’ (DC Chi Hi Mix)

Tour dates:
26 Oct – The Warehouse Project, Curated by TEED, Manchester
27 Oct – Lollipop, Bucharest
28 Oct – Horse Meat Disco 9th Anniversary, London
30 Nov – Derrick Carter Does Disco, The Loft, London
1 Dec – Design at Suju, Swindon
2 Dec – Boiler Room Classic Music Company takeover (live online broadcast), London
26 Dec – The Sanctuary, Cumbria
28 Dec – The Den, Newcastle
29 Dec – Sub Club, Glasgow
1 Jan – The Warehouse Project Closing Party, Manchester



Share Tweet