Derrick May announces new double-CD set, <i>Beyond the Dance</i>

Battle-scarred Detroiter Derrick May has announced a new double-disc CD. 

Titled Beyond the Dance: Transmat 4, it finds the techno originator – not to mention recent FACT mixer – mixing across two discs, with contributions from Double Helix, Rennie Foster, Greg Gow and more. As Resident Advisor report, Transmat have only currently made plans to release the CD in Japan.

Speaking to RA, May describes Japan as “the only place in the world that appreciates the music. There’s a lot of places in the world where people like to go to the music. They like to go to the clubs. They like to go have a great time. They like to listen to mix shows, and like to go to the cafes where the music is being played. But there is nowhere in the world right now where people are actually being consumers. In Japan, you can still sell 10,000-15,000 records, be it vinyl, CD, whatever the format you can sell product. It’s one of the last markets in the world where people are paying attention, and all of the world has turned their backs not just on dance music but on any format of music.

“Here there’s still just a touch of honor and respect left for the artist. It’s all here, because let’s be honest: I’ve got a project coming out, [and] that just doesn’t happen anymore. It’s a seriously real thing with a fairly decent budget spent on it. Every artist got paid in advance. There’s marketing and promotions—it’s real!”

Japan will be able to buy Transmat 4 from December 5 – fingers crossed that it’s accessible to other countries soon.

01. John Arnold – Sparkle
02. Digital Justice – Theme From: It’s All Gone Pearshaped
03. Choice – Acid Eiffel
04. Louis Haiman – Seedling
05. Psyche – Crackdown (Remix)
06. Double Helix – Silent Company
07. Tony Drake – One
08. Sans Soleil – Moulinex
09. A Scorpion’s Dream – Aqua Dance
10. Silent Phase – Fire (Rewired Mix, excerpt)

01. Karim Sahraoui/DJINXX – Mr. Teleportation
02. Microworld – Signals
03. Rennie Foster – Floatilla
04. Yotam Avni – Heliotropism (Tons of Piano)
05. Chronophone – Eiffel in Love
06. Kenny Larkin/Dark Comedy – War of the Worlds
07. Greg Gow – The Bridge
08. Zak Khutoretsky/DVS1 – Pressure
09. Deep’a & Biri, Gene – Ocean Swell
10. Craig Sherrad – Sattelite Exstasy (Monty’s Maple City Remix)
11. Stephen Brown – Vocal Slices
12. Karim Sahraoui/DJINXX – Nightflow
13. Derrick May/Rythim Is Rythim – Hand Over Hand



Share Tweet