2012 belonged to Adele – will 2013 be Frank Ocean’s year?

The nominations for the 55th Annual Grammy Awards were announced yesterday evening. Frank Ocean is clearly the name to watch, with a formidable six nominations to his name. Ocean is up for Album Of The Year (channelORANGE) and Record Of The Year (‘Thinkin Bout You’), and his potential haul also includes Best New Artist, Best Urban Contemporary Album, and two nominations (Best Rap/Sung Collaboration; Best Short Form Music Video) for his work on Watch The Throne. On the topic, Jay-Z and Kanye West are also both in the running for six awards apiece, with multiple nominations in the Best Rap Performance list.

Ocean’s fellow R&B traveller Miguel also fares well, clocking up five nominations (including ‘Song Of The Year’ for ‘Adorn’). Scouring the list for other friends of FACT, we note that Diplo gets a nod for Producer of the Year; M.I.A. gets props for her ‘Bad Girls’ clip; and Björk’s Biophilia is repped in the Best Alternative Music Album category. EDM’s gaudy goliaths are represented in the Best Dance/Electronica category: Skrillex, Deadmau5, Steve Aoki, Kaskade and The Chemical Brothers make the cut.

Surprise of the year: Photek gets a nod for his remix of Moby’s ‘Lie Down In Darkness’. Do it for us, Rupert!

The exhaustive/exhausting full list of nominations is available here, but a clutch of the biggies read as follows:

Album of the Year
El Camino – The Black Keys
Some Nights – Fun.
Babel – Mumford & Sons
Channel Orange – Frank Ocean
Blunderbuss – Jack White

Record of the Year
‘Lonely Boy’ – The Black Keys
‘Stronger (What Doesn’t Kill You)’ – Kelly Clarkson
‘We Are Young’ – Fun., featuring Janelle Monáe
‘Somebody That I Used To Know’ – Gotye, featuring Kimbra
‘Thinkin Bout You’ – Frank Ocean
‘We Are Never Ever Getting Back Together’ – Taylor Swift

Best New Artist
Alabama Shakes
Hunter Hayes
The Lumineers
Frank Ocean

Song of the Year
‘The A Team’ – Ed Sheeran, songwriter (Ed Sheeran)
‘Adorn’ – Miguel Pimentel, songwriter (Miguel)
‘Call Me Maybe’ – Tavish Crowe, Carly Rae Jepsen and Josh Ramsay, songwriters (Carly Rae Jepsen)
‘Stronger (What Doesn’t Kill You)’ – Jörgen Elofsson, David Gamson, Greg Kurstin and Ali Tamposi, songwriters (Kelly Clarkson)
‘We Are Young’ – Jack Antonoff, Jeff Bhasker, Andrew Dost and Nate Ruess, songwriters (Fun., featuring Janelle Monáe)

Best Dance/Electronica Album
Wonderland – Steve Aoki
Don’t Think – Chemical Brothers
> Album Title Goes Here < – Deadmau5
Fire & Ice – Kaskade
Bangarang – Skrillex

Best Rap Performance
‘HYFR’ – Drake f. Lil Wayne
‘Niggas In Paris’ – Jay-Z and Kanye West
‘Daughters’ – Nas
‘Mercy’ – G.O.O.D Music
‘I Do’ – Young Jeezy ft. Jay-Z & Andre 3000

Best Rap Album
Take Care – Drake
Food & Liquor II: The Great American Rap Album, Pt. 1 – Lupe Fiasco
Life Is Good – Nas
Undun – The Roots
Based On A T.R.U Story – 2 Chainz
God Forgives, I Don’t – Rick Ross

Producer Of The Year
Dan Auerbach
Jeff Bhaskar
Markus Dravs
Salaam Remi

Best Remixed Recording, Non-Classical
‘In My Mind’ – Ivan Gough (Axwell Remix)
‘Midnight City’ – M83 (Eric Prydz remix)
‘Promises’ – Nero (Skrillex remix)
‘The Veldt’ – Deadmau5 (Tommy Trash remix)
‘Lie Down In Darkness’ – Moby (Photek remix)



Share Tweet