Glam metal old-timers KISS remain an industrious unit, releasing their 20th LP Monster earlier this year – but a colossal new box set sees them raking over their past. 

The Casasblanca Singles 1974-1982 collects 29 7″s put out by the band between 1974 and 1982.  The discs, all of which have been remastered and specially mixed, arrive in a die-cut box with lavish silver plating. 26 of the discs in question feature original single artwork from a variety of different territories, including Japan, Europe and the U.S. The set also features a 36 page booklet with unseen images and accompanying notes.

As well as featuring a host of classic full-band material (debut single ‘Nothin To Lose’/’Love Theme From KISS’; ‘Detroit Rock City’; ‘Strutter’), the set also includes four singles from each band member’s 1978 solo LPs, each pressed onto coloured vinyl and accompanied with a fetching paper mask. Gene Simmons’ ‘Radioactive’/’See You In Your Dreams’ arrives on red vinyl; Ace Frehley’s ‘New York Groove’/’Snow Blind’ comes in blue; Paul Stanley’s ‘Hold Me, Touch Me’/’Goodbye’ is on purple vinyl; and Peter Criss’ ‘You Matter To Me’/’Hooked On Rock N Roll’ is on a green disc.

According to Simmons, “this box set represents us at the very beginning of our career, and documents the band’s early success and subsequent growth”. The Casablanca Singles 1974-1982 is out now on Universal. [via Exclaim]



Share Tweet