Eccentric Canadian label Electric Voice have recruited some fine names for their latest compilation. 

Over the last three years, Matt Samways’ label has specialised in synth-heavy oddities and post-punk fare: R. Stevie Moore, contemporary coldwavers German Army and madcap punk crew Catbag have all cropped up on their books. They were also responsible for this year’s great Electric Voice Compilation, with featured cuts from Horrid Red and Moore & Ariel Pink, not to mention d’Eon’s fabulous ‘Transparency Part III’.

The label have now announced a sequel to said compilation, titled Electric Voice II. Where Electric Voice Compilation focused on skewed pop music, the new collection promises to be an altogether darker affair. Genesis P-Orridge’s Thee Majesty project contribute the lead track, and goth pop outfit Tropic Of Cancer also offer material. Coldwave revivalists Frank (Just Frank), meanwhile, sit next to vintage Factory singings Ike Yard. Exclusive tracks are also promised from storied Belgian three-piece Vita Noctis, recently rehabilitated coldwave outfit Nine Circles, and Minimal Wave-sanctioned maverick ADN Ckrystall.

The disc also arrives with some elegant artwork, courtesy of Juan ‘Silent Servant’ Mendez. Two tracks from the release – Tropic Of Cancer’s brooding ‘Fall Apart’, and Xeno & Oaklander offshoot Martial Canterel’s scuzzy ‘Who Will Remain’ – are available to stream below.

Electric Voice II is due on April 1 2013. The collection will be available as a digital download, and a limited run of 500 LPs will also be printed.

1. Real Eyes – Thee Majesty
2. Who Will Remain – Martial Canterel
3. Der Stasi Palace – ADN’ Ckrystall
4. Bit of Smile – Martin Dupont
5. Fall Apart – Tropic Of Cancer
6. Traversez le Pont – Frank (Just Frank)
7. Elysians – Ike Yard
8. Serial Killer – Vita Noctis
9. Mercy – Nine Circles
10. End Credits Roll – Das Ding



Share Tweet