Birmingham’s loudest sons are to have their most recent studio LP reissued.

2001’s Hymns is a significant record in the Godflesh catalogue: it’s the last record the band released before their break-up in 2001 (and subsequent reunion in 2009). After the heterogeneity and cross-genre cribbing of 1999’s Us And Them, it’s also a strikingly spartan record, boiling the band to its bare bones and adding a little more light into the mix.

As Exclaim report, The End Records are now set to reissue an expanded version of the album. Hymns has been fully remastered for the occasion, and the disc will come bundled with new liner notes and previously unseen photographs of the band. More tantalisingly, Hymns 2.0 will also feature a bonus disc of demo recordings and sketches. Bonus track ‘If I Could Only Be What You Want’, previously only available on 2002’s Loud Music For Loud People LP, is also included.

Hymns will arrive on 2xLP and 2xCD on February 19.

Disc 1:
1. Defeated
2. Deaf, Dumb & Blind
3. Paralyzed
4. Anthem
5. Voidhead
6. Tyrant
7. White Flag
8. For Life
9. Animals
10. Vampires
11. Antihuman
12. Regal
13. Jesu

Disc 2:
1. Voidhead (Demo 2012 Mix)
2. Vampires (Demo 2012 Mix)
3. Deaf, Dumb & Blind (Demo 2012 Remastered)
4. Anthem (Demo 2012 Remastered)
5. Paralyzed (Demo 2012 Remastered)
6. For Life (Demo 2012 Remastered)
7. If I Could Only Be What You Want (2012 Remastered)




Share Tweet