Portland wanderer Grouper announces new album, reissues <i>Dragging a Dead Deer Up a Hill</i>

Liz ‘Grouper ‘ Harris will release a new full-length, The Man Who Died in his Boat, in February.

A collection of unreleased songs recorded alongside 2008’s Dragging a Dead Deer Up a Hill, it will be released alongside a reissue of that album, by Kranky – the record was originally released on Type.

In typically cryptic fashion, the press release for the record simply reads “When I was a teenager the wreckage of a sailboat washed up on the shore of Agate Beach. The remains of the vessel weren’t removed for several days. I walked down with my father to peer inside the boat cabin. Maps, coffee cups and clothing were strewn around inside.

“I remember looking only briefly, wilted by the feeling that I was violating some remnant of this man’s presence by witnessing the evidence of its failure. Later I read a story about him in the paper. It was impossible to know what had happened. The boat had never crashed or capsized. He had simply slipped off somehow, and the boat, like a riderless horse, eventually came back home.”

Both records will be released on February 4.

The Man Who Died in His Boat tracklist:
01. 6
02. Vital
03. Cloud in places
04. Being her shadow
05. Cover the long way
06. Difference (voices)
07. Vanishing point
08. The Man Who Died in His Boat
09. Towers
10. STS
11. Living Room

Dragging a Dead Deer Up a Hill tracklist:
01. Disengaged
02. Heavy Water/I’d Rather Be Sleeping
03. Stuck
04. When We Fall
05. Traveling Through a Sea
06. Fishing Bird (Empty Gutted in the Evening Breeze)
07. Invisible
08. I’m Dragging a Dead Deer Up a Hill
09. A Cover Over
10. Wind and Snow
11. Tidal Wave
12. We’ve All Gone to Sleep



Share Tweet