To accompany FACT’s own Best of 2012 features, we asked some of our favourite artists what their highlights of the year were. We’ll be rolling their answers out across the coming days. You can read yesterday’s selections here.

The Bug

The Spaceape – ‘On the Run’
Darq E Freaker feat. Danny Brown – ‘Blueberry (Pills & Cocaine)’
Kyle Hall & Zero – ‘Zug Island’
Nas – ‘The Don’
Roger Robinson – ‘Running’
Emptyset – ‘Armature’
Dean Blunt – ‘The Narcissist’ ft. Inga Copeland
Pusha T – ‘Pain’
CAS – ‘Drugs Don’t Work’
Terror Danjah & Riko Dan – ‘Dark Crawler’


Laurel Halo – ‘Light + Space’ (Hyperdub)
Jam City – ‘Hyatt Park Nights Pt. 2’ (Night Slugs)
Mickey Pearce – ‘I Am’ (Swamp 81)
Kowton – ‘Jam01’ (Livity Sound)
Jam City – ‘Goodbye Hyatt Park’ (MzMuzikChannel Youtube)
Mumdance & Logos – ‘In Reverse’ (unreleased)
Bloom – ‘Quartz’ (Gobstopper)
Rabit – ‘Pressed’ (unreleased)
Ruff Sqwad – ‘Personal Bliss Inducers’ (Silverdrizzle Youtube)
Beneath – ‘Prangin” – (Keysound)
DB1 – ‘Vanguard’ (Hidden Hawaii)
Joe – ‘Studio Power On’ (Hemlock)

Mista Men

10. Lucy Love – ‘We Are The Stars’ (Tom Shorterz 02:31 Remix)
9. Checan – ‘Killer Bee”s
8. Hannah Wants – ‘Dappy’
7. Midland – ‘Bring Joy ‘(Midland’s 2012 Refix)
6. James Welsh – ‘M62’ (Medlar Remix)
5. Squarehead – ‘Elegante’
4. Dj Q – ‘Close’
3. Squarehead & Mella Dee – ‘Get Together’
2. Waze & Odyssey – ‘Love That Burns’
1. Mosca – ‘Eva Mendez’

John Twells (Type Records)

Usher – ‘Climax’ (RCA)
Future – ‘Turn On The Lights’ (Epic)
King Louie – ‘Too Cool’ (No Label)
Andy Stott – ‘Up The Box’ (Modern Love)
DJ Q – ‘Brandy & Coke’ (Local Action)
Nina Kraviz – ‘Walking into the Night’ (feat. Hard Ton) (Rekids)
Cassie – ‘Balcony’ (Bad Boy)
Omarion & Wale – ‘M.I.A.’ (Maybach Music)
Jeremih – ‘Fuck U All The Time’ (No Label)
2 Chainz – ‘No Lie’ (feat. Drake) (Def Jam)
Main Attrakionz – ‘Do It for The Bay’ (Young One)
Wiley – ‘Wiley Step 7 May’ (No Label)
Joe – ‘Studio Power On’ (Hemlock)
Amber London – ‘Low MF Key’ (No Label)
LV – Sebenza (Hyperdub)


Jackmaster’s 2012 Honesty Chart:

Carly Rae Jepsen – ‘Call Me Maybe’
Joy Orbison – ‘Big Room Tech House Tool – Tip!’
TNGHT – ‘Higher Ground’
NY Stomp – ‘NY House Track’
SOPHIE – ‘Nothing More To Say’
Unspecified Enemies – ‘Multi-Ordinal Tracking Unit’
Nneka – ‘Shining Star’ (Joe Goddard Remix)
DJ Hyperactive – ‘Wide Open’ (Len Faki DJ Tool Edit)
Plezier – ‘Plezier’s Anthem’
Bauuer – ‘Harlem Shake’



Share Tweet