Sandwell District's Function readies debut album for Ostgut Ton

New York’s Dave Sumner preps his first ever LP for Ostgut Ton.

Last year, Function released his first effort since the closing of Sandwell District, the three-track Obsessed EP. At the time, we reported that an LP on Frozen Border would follow by the end of the year, but 2012 came and went without the album’s release.

Instead, Juno Plus reports the first album of Sumner’s 15-year production career will be out this spring via Berghain’s Ostgut Ton imprint. The label describes the nine-track Incubation as “the soundtrack to a suspenseful techno-thriller, or retro-futurist sci-fi tale,” noting that ‘Voiceprint (Reprise)’ sounds “like a classic R&S or Soma release circa ’95.”

Ostgut Ton will release Incubation on 2×12″ and CD formats (the CD contains one bonus track) on March 4; the cover art and tracklistings are below. Until then, stream Function’s sparse ‘Obsessed’ below.

CD version
1. Voiceprint
2. Against The Wall
3. Counterpoint
4. Modifier
5. Incubation (Ritual)
6. Inter (Album Version)
7. Voiceprint (Reprise)
8. Psychic Warfare
9. Gradient I

2×12” version
A1. Voiceprint
A2. Against The Wall
B1. Counterpoint
B2. Modifier
C1. Incubation (Ritual)
C2. Inter (Album Version)
D1. Voiceprint (Reprise)
D2. Psychic Warfare



Share Tweet