London label 2nd Drop have clocked up a score of releases, and they’re celebrating with their first ever label primer. 

The history of Mark Gurney and James Bliss’ imprint is best understood as a story in two acts. From 2007-2009, the label put out releases from a wide selection of rising UK producers: Ramadanman (2007’s Nina Simone edit  ‘Good Feelin’), LV (‘Don’t Judge’) and J: Kenzo (‘Conquerer’) all featured on the 2nd Drop release sheet. After something of a fallow year in 2010, the label resumed activities with a new pool of buzzy young talent, putting out notable releases by on-the-up folks like Gerry Read, Tessela, Djrum (responsible for the label’s 20th release) and South London Ordnance.

New compilation Future Foundations will collected eight exclusive tracks from 2nd Drop alumni and affiliates. South London Ordnance and Djrum are represented, and LV have offered a collaborative track with reggae artist Dan Bowskill. Alex Coulton and Last Magpie both make their label debut, and Youandewan, Pedestrian and Manni Dee & Deft also feature. Further releases under the ‘Future Foundations’ umbrella are also anticipated in the coming months.

Future Foundations will be available as a 3 x 12″ vinyl set or as a digital bundle on March 4.

A. Alex Coulton – Grande Swing
B. Youandewan – Faith
C1. LV & Dan Bowskill – Livin Up
C2. Pedestrian – Sliding Down Rainbows
D. Last Magpie – Without You
E. Djrum – Blue on Blue (Voodoo)
F1. South London Ordnance – Daphne
F2. Manni Dee & Deft – This One, The Art of the Possible



Share Tweet