Co La announces <em>Moody Coup</em> for Software, shares new single

Baltimore sample wrangler Matt Papich prepares the follow-up to 2011’s Daydream Repeater.

While Daydream Repeater sampled heavily from reggae, exotica, and 60s girl groups, Co La aims for a more “elusive and abstract” palette on Moody Coup by working a wider range of reference points into a mosaic of samples, field recordings, and synth-work.

Much of the album was made in the kitchen of Papich’s Baltimore home in collaboration with Joe Williams, who programmed and performed all synths; Dirty Projectors-collaborator Angel Deradoorian contributed “haunting voice chants” throughout the album.

Moody Coup is due out on May 7 via Daniel Lopatin and Joel Ford’s experimental outpost Software Records. The art and tracklist are below, along with first single ‘Melter’s Delight’: a climatic symphony of heavy breathing, phaser arpeggios, and restless percussion.

Moody Coup:
1. Sukiyaki To Die For
2. Melter’s Delight
3. Remarkable Features
4. Deaf Christian
5. Un
6. Suspicious (Sandman Fix)
7. Baby’s Breath
8. Head in Hole in Space
9. Sympathy Flinch
10. Make it Slay (Barbershop Solo)



Share Tweet