Trip-hop icon Tricky goes "back to the beginning" on new album <i>False Idols</i>

Earlier this month we found out that Tricky had launched a new label, False Idols

A sub-label of German electronic imprint !K7, we now know that the first release on False Idols will be a new Tricky album, also titled False Idols. It will be released on May 28, and marks the trip-hop icon and Massive Attack collaborator’s first album since 2010’s Mixed Race. 

In a statement accompanying the album news, Tricky refers to it as a record where he’ll “stand behind every track. I don’t care whether people like it. I’m doing what I want to do, which is what I did with my first record. That’s what made me who I was in the beginning. If people don’t like it, it don’t matter to me because I’m back where I was … My last two albums, I thought they were good, but I realize now they weren’t.”

You can stream a track from False Idols, ‘Nothing’s Changed’, below.

01. Somebody’s Sins
02. Nothing Matters
03. Valentine
04. Bonnie & Clyde
05. Parenthesis
06. Nothing’s Changed
07. If Only I Knew
08. Is That Your Life
09. Tribal Drums
10. We Don’t Die
11. Chinese Interlude
12. Does It
13. I’m Ready
14. Hey Love
15. Passion of the Christ



Share Tweet