House Of Black Lanterns to <em>Kill The Lights</em> on debut LP; Rudi Zygadlo to feature

Fabric offshoot Houndstooth have announced their debut artist album, courtesy of Dylan Richards’ House Of Black Lanterns project. 

Richards is best known for turning out manic mixtapes as ZILLA and, latterly, releasing on Ninja Tune as King Cannibal. The House Of Black Lanterns alias sees Richards turning his hand to “new no wave”, which, translated, means moody techno and electro with melodramatic flourishes.

As reported, the House will open its doors on a new EP, Truth And Loss, later this month. Turns out that record is merely an aperitif: according to Houndstooth, a House Of Black Lanterns full-length will arrive next month. Kill The Lights promises to be “more restrained than anything I have worked on before”, with “the threat of violence…buried deep in texture rather than worn outwardly on my sleeve.”

Richards has recruited a host of guests for the LP. Planet Mu’s florid troubadour Rudi Zygadlo features on ‘Pale December’, and Trinadadian MC Juakali contributes vocals on ‘Never Sleep Again’. Other bit-players include Ghettozoid and UK singer Leni Ward.

Kill The Lights is due on April 29 through Houndstooth.

01. Beg
02. Broken feat. Ghettozoid
03. Shot You Down feat. Leni Ward
04. Truth & Loss
05. I’ll Wait For You
06. Never Sleep Again feat. Juakali
07. Rolling Thunder
08. You, Me, Metropolis
09. Names feat. Leni Ward
10. Pale December feat. Rudi Zygadlo
11. The Walls Are Closing In



Share Tweet