Eglo Records announce debut compilation; Floating Points and Funkineven to feature

Eglo Records, redoubtable champions of starry-eyed house and oddbeat soul, have entered their fourth year of operations. 

Run by Sam Shepherd – aka Floating Points – and Rinse FM mainstay Alexander Nut, Eglo Records have built a tight, frequently rewarding roster of artists. Properly emerging in 2009 with Floating Points’ effulgent Vacuum EP, Eglo have established their own distinctive niche, situated somewhere between the (sadly deceased) Goya Music Distrbution family and Gilles Peterson’s rootsy Brownswood imprint. Key releases have included Fatima’s 2010 EP Mindtravellin, FunkinEven’s 2011 acid fantasia ‘Roland’s Jam’ and a rash of essential Floating Points 12″s.

To celebrate four years in the game, Eglo have announced a retrospective 2xCD compilation. Eglo Records Vol. 1 will be the label’s first full-length to date, and features 23 chronologically sequenced tracks from label affiliates and regulars. The record promises four exclusive tracks, plus a collection of elusive vinyl-only releases dating from 2009-2011. 

Eglo big hitters Floating Points, Funkineven and Fatima will all contribute material. Other artists set to appear include Alix Perez side-gig ARP 101, L.A. chameleon Gifted & Blessed, nu-soul singer Shuanise and accomplished broken beat producer Mizz Beats.

Eglo Records Vol. 1 will arrive with a 20-page booklet, including a foreword from Alexander Nut and photographs by Vent Fury. The disc will also come with a gold print gate-fold design, courtesy of Kay Shin.

Eglo Records Vol. 1 is due on April 29.

1. Floating Points – Radiality
2. Floating Points – Vacuum Boogie
3. Funkineven feat. Fatima – Kleer
4. Shuanise – Catch
5. Fatima – Soul Glo
6. Funkineven – She’s Acid
7. Floating Points – Shark Chase
8. Arp.101 – Dead Leaf
9. Funkineven – Heart Pound
10. Arp.101 – Flush
11. Mizz Beats – Sanctuary

1. Fatima feat. Floating Points – Innervisions
2. Floating Points – Sais(Dub)
3. Floating Points – Marylin
4. Funkineven – Roland’s Jam
5. Floating Points – Danger
6. Arp.101 – U
7. Mizz Beats – Scientific Brainpriest
8. Floating Points – Myrtle Avenue
9. Fatima – Visit You
10. Floating Points Ensemble – Wires
11. Shuanise – Mercy
12. GB Presents The Abstract Eye – Reflexes



Share Tweet