Following on from Vondelpark’s delicate (or, some might say, slight) debut  LP, R&S have announced the first full-length from gentle producer Rob McAndrews, aka Airhead.  

McAndrews’ career is inextricably linked with that of schoolfriend and collaborator James Blake: his first moment in the spotlight came on 2010 Blake collab ‘Pembroke’, he plays guitar in Blake’s touring outfit, and he helps run the 1-8000 DINOSAUR clubnight/label with Blake and others. Since forming a relationship with R&S early last year, he’s proved himself to be a flexible talent, turned out both sweeping post-rock (‘Wait’) and mutant techno (‘Pyramid Lake’).

R&S have now announced McAndrews’ debut LP, For Years. The ten-track LP will feature familiar singles ‘Wait’ and ‘Pyramid Lake’, and boasts a new Blake collaboration, ‘Knives’. The record also promises nods to Stars Of The Lid and Godspeed You! Black Emperor, suggesting McAndrew’s’ interest in willowy textures and slow builds will continue unabated.

Lead track ‘Autumn’ – a guitar-led ballad with hints of Mùm and Mice Parade – is available to stream below. It’s unlikely to do much for fans of steelier dance music (there’s even a track called ‘Callow’ on there), but admirers of the fey and the furtive will no doubt get their fix.

For Years is due on June 11.

1. Wait
2. Milkola Bottle
3. Callow
4. Masami
5. Pyramid Lake
6. Azure Race
7. Autumn
8. Fault Line
9. Lightmeters
10. Knives feat. James Blake



Share Tweet