ABBA’s Benny Andersson and Björn Ulvaeus have formed a new Swedish house mafia with Avicii to compose the theme of this year’s Eurovision Song Contest.

The Scandinavian trio were handpicked by Eurovision organisers to come up with an anthem for the annual pop contest, which this year takes place in Sweden after pop singer Loreen bagged the country a fifth win in 2012.

‘We Write the Story’ is a Benny and Björn composition with arrangement by DJ and producer Avicii – a “union of two of Sweden’s biggest musical exports”, as Eurovision bosses pointed out.

The Abba duo called the collaboration a “piece of mutual understanding and fellowship” and said that working with the EDM wunderkind – who earlier this week was the target of a bizarre scatological threat from house producer Seth Troxler – was “a lot of fun and very inspiring”.

The song will have its premiere as the opening act of the contest in Malmö on 18 May.



Share Tweet