DJ Stingray and DMX Krew sign up for new electro compilation, <em>Datafunk</em>.

Electro label Abstract Forms have announced a new electrospective, stuffed with all-new material from a host of label graduates and admirers.

Run by UK producer Deixis, Abstract Forms have spent the last five years putting out contemporary electro from a wide range of producers, including Boris Bunnik (operating under his Versalife alias) and Kirk Degiorgio. They’ve also just announced The Exaltics’ Das Heise Experiment – the label’s inaugural artist album, and the third full-length release from the Crème Organization alum.

New compilation Datafunk will collect 10 new tracks from a clutch of contemporary electro producers and more seasoned acid fiends. In the latter category are Drexciya affiliate and Urban Tribe figurehead DJ Stingray, responsible for last year’s F.T.N.W.O LP, and hydra-headed UK acid dude DMX Krew. Younger names include Rotterdam’s Ian Martin, homegrown producer Koova, and some larkers called Linear Synthesis peddling a track named ‘Cycloaddition’ – about as electro a sentence as the English language is capable of producing.

Abstract Forms will release Datafunk in September 2013. The compilation will be limited to 300 copies. Last year, DMX Krew talked us through five of his favourite records, ranging from Roger Troutman to Aphex Twin. [via Resident Advisor]

1. Ian Martin – Frame Reality
2. Shemale – Allotment Last Winter
3. Federico Leocata – EinzZuZwei
4. Das Muster – Projektionsfelder
5. Obergman – Sunspot Cycle
1. Koova – Monteur
2. Linear Synthesis – Cycloaddition
3. DMX Krew – Data Storm
4. Elec Pt.1 – If U Don’t Want Me
5. DJ Stingray – Cyberslut



Share Tweet