My Needle Drops Back and Forth.

Confounding musical explorer Kiran Hebden is a favourite around these parts, so it’s always a pleasure to hear him choosing a bunch of tracks for our listening pleasure. Hebden is the guest DJ on this week’s edition of WNYU’s Beats in Space and drops a plethora of jams, from his own tracks and remixes to classics from Prince and new bits from Joy Orbison and Jai Paul. It’s a typically engaging, eclectic blend of tunes from an artist who’s as much a fan as he is a producer, and the fact that he’s still excited about new music after his pretty extended tenure is refreshing.

Beats in Space host Tim Sweeney interviews Hebden about what’s in the pipeline, and most interestingly to us we get a few scant details about the producer’s exciting forthcoming collaboration with Sublime Frequencies’ Omar Souleyman. While we don’t get much info, Hebden does let us know that the album is at least done, so we’ve certainly got something to look forward to – watch this space.


01 James Holden – Gone Feral (Synth Tool) – Border Community
02 Four Tet – Pyramid (Atoms For Peace Remix) – Text
03 Prince – Feel You Up –
04 Prince – Irresistible Bitch –
05 Jai Paul – Track 2
06 DJ Spider & Marshallito – Skywalker
07 Jon Hopkins – Open Eye Signal (Happa Remix)
08 Pearson Sound – Gridlock
09 Stanley Clarke – Lopsy Lu (Edit)
10 Neneh Cherry & Afrika Baby Bam – Nina
11 Joy Orbison & Boddika – Tricky’s Team
12 RocketNumberNine – Rotunda (Four Tet Refix)
13 – –
14 Digi Dub Mk3 – Taxman
15 Novelette Barnett – Fire De A Town
16 Sylvester – I Need Somebody To Love Tonight
17 Michael Boothman – What You Won’t Do For Love – Invisible City Editions
18 Four Tet – Human Once Again (Grimes)
19 Koreless – Ivana



Share Tweet