Swedish disco starlet Sally Shapiro announces remix LP, featuring The Field and Nite Jewel

Not for the first time, winsome Italo disco revivalist Sally Shapiro has handed her most recent album over to a host of remixers. 

Where Robyn pitched for the charts and Lykke Li went for the quirky pop constituency, Swedish singer Shapiro has long planted her flag in nu-disco territory. Between her charming 2006 debut Disco Romance and her somewhat cryptic public persona, she’s built a formidable cult following, and her case has been helped by some interesting remix discs: Remix Romance Vol. 1 featured edits from Tensnake and Holy Fuck, and 2010’s My Guilty Pleasure remix set tapped up Junior Boys and CFCF.

Elsewhere will collect a stash of Shapiro remixes inspired by material from recent LP Somewhere Else. The chief name on the collection is fellow Swede The Field, who applies his loop-the-loop strategies to ‘Lives Together’. Chillwaver-turned-pop star proper Nite Jewel takes on Sundown, and pint-sized electro-pop singer Little Boots is also on board. Young Galaxy, Lost Years and Dan Lissvick are also signed up to appear, as are lesser-known names like Mauvais Cliché, Henning Fürst (of The Tough Alliance) and Mitch Murder.

Elsewhere is due on May 28 through Paper Bag. The Field’s slo-mo remix is available to stream below, and shows the producer on unusually dozy form.


1. I Dream With An Angel Tonight (Lovelock Remix)
2. If It Doesn’t Rain (Dan Lissvik Remix)
3. All My Life (Mitch Murder Remix)
4. Architectured Love (Mauvais Cliché Remix)
5. Sundown (Nite Jewel Remix)
6. This City’s Local Italo Disco DJ Has A Crush On Me (Little Boots Discotheque Remix)
7. Don’t Be Afraid (Lost Years Remix)
8. Starman (Henning Fürst Remix)
9. What Can I Do (Young Galaxy Remix)
10. Lives Together (The Field Remix)





Share Tweet