Theo Parrish is the latest DJ to celebrate vintage Oakland jazz/funk label Black Jazz on a new compilation.

Back in 2012, Snow Dog released the Gilles Peterson-curated Black Jazz Radio, which saw the Brownswood boss pick his favourite cuts from the label’s back catalogue. Snow Dog subsequently recruited DJ Mitsu The Beats to pull together a fine mix of Black Jazz-only material earlier this year.

As Resident Advisor report, the latest artist to play selector in the series is the redoubtable Theo Parrish. Black Jazz Signature sees Parrish collect his favourite records on the label from 1971-6. The 12-track compilation features a swathe of material from Chicago hard-bop sextet The Awakening, plus music from Gene Russell, Calvin Keys, Rudolph Johnson and Walter Bishop Jr.

Black Jazz Signature is due on August 20 through Snow Dog Records on digital, CD and 2xLP. [via Resident Advisor]

1. Doug Carn – Trance Dance
2. Gene Russell – My Favorite Things
3. The Awakening – March On
4. The Awakening – Convulsions
5. The Awakening – Jupiter
6. Calvin Keys – Criss Cross
7. Rudolph Johnson – The Highest Pleasure
8. Walter Bishop Jr. – Those Who Chant
9. The Awakening – Mirage
10. Calvin Keys – B.E.
11. Rudolph Johnson – Time and Space
12. Walter Bishop Jr. – Blue Bossa



Share Tweet