Kompakt‘s 20th birthday festivities continue to rumble on.

Wolfgang Voigt and Michael Mayer’s label has come a long way since its humble beginnings in Cologne’s Delirium record store in 1993. They’ve already marked the distance with Kompakt 20 Jahre Kollektion – a 25-track set featuring classic material from the likes of Justus Köhncke, Matias Aguayo, and DJ Koze – and a second compilation is now on the way.

As per its predecessor, Kollektion 2 will assemble a selection of key Kompakt releases from the last twenty years. Old hands include Closer Musik, Lawrence, Jürgren Paape and Reinhard Voigt; Walls and Kölsch are among the younger pups.  Kollektion 2 is due on August 19 – check the tracklist below.

In another recent bit of birthday gift-giving, Kompakt invited composer Gregor Schwellenbach to reimagine material from the label vaults; head here for a track-by-track runthrough of the project.

1. Closer Musik – Maria
2. Terranova – Question Mark Feat. Tomas Høffding
3. Shumi – The Wind And The Sea
4. Schaeben & Voss – Ach Komm
5. Aril Brikha – Berghain
6. The Modernist – The Days Of Pearly Spencer
7. Saschienne – Grand Cru
8. Mikkel Metal – Dorant
9. Walls – Sunporch
10. Lawrence – Teaser
11. Whomadewho – Beyond The Cherry Moon
12. Coma – Playground Altona
13. Jürgen Paape – So Weit Wie Noch Nie

1. Ferenc – Yes Sir We Can Hardcore (M. Mayer Mix)
2. Jürgen Paape – Take That
3. Steadycam – Knock-Kneed
4. Reinhard Voigt – Robson Ponte
5. Burger/Voigt – Bring Trance Back To Reality
6. Peter Grummich – Frozen World
7. Superpitcher – Irre
8. Kölsch – Loreley
9. Michael Mayer – Pride Is Weaker Than Love
10. Perc & Fractal – Up
11. Oxia – Domino



Share Tweet