Another Self Portrait.

It would be safe to say that Bob Dylan‘s 1970 album Self Portrait is one of the legendary artist’s most misunderstood albums. A collection of pop covers, live recordings and pre-rock cuts, the album shocked listeners on its release and hasn’t fared much better in the time since. Still, the album is the focus of the next installment of Dylan’s ongoing Bootleg Series, and is to be expanded into a four CD set retitled Another Self Portrait.

The project was kicked off a year ago when Dylan’s office found an unheard two-track reel of the Self Portrait-era material. These acoustic sessions and outtakes make up the bulk of the reissue, but the set has been fleshed out with additional cuts from Dylan’s 1968 album Nashville Skyline and 1970’s New Morning. The deluxe edition of the set will also contain a complete recording of Dylan and The Band’s 1969 Isle of Wight Festival performance, and a remastered version of the original album.

The Bootleg Series, Vol. 10 – Another Self Portrait (1969-1971) will be released on August 27. [via Rolling Stone]


CD 1

01 “Went to See the Gypsy” (demo)
02 “In Search of Little Sadie” (without overdubs, Self Portrait)
03 “Pretty Saro” (unreleased, Self Portrait)
04 “Alberta #3” (alternate version, Self Portrait)
05 “Spanish Is the Loving Tongue” (unreleased, Self Portrait)
06 “Annie’s Going to Sing Her Song” (unreleased, Self Portrait)
07 “Time Passes Slowly #1” (alternate version, New Morning)
08 “Only a Hobo” (unreleased, Greatest Hits II)
09 “Minstrel Boy” (unreleased, The Basement Tapes)
10 “I Threw It All Away” (alternate version, Nashville Skyline)
11 “Railroad Bill” (unreleased, Self Portrait)
12 “Thirsty Boots” (unreleased, Self Portrait)
13 “This Evening So Soon” (unreleased, Self Portrait)
14 “These Hands” (unreleased, Self Portrait)
15 “Little Sadie” (without overdubs, Self Portrait)
16 “House Carpenter” (unreleased, Self Portrait)
17 “All the Tired Horses” (without overdubs, Self Portrait)

CD 2

01 “If Not For You” (alternate version, New Morning)
02 “Wallflower” (alternate version, 1971)
03 “Wigwam” (original version without overdubs, Self Portrait)
04 “Days of ’49” (original version without overdubs, Self Portrait)
05 “Working on a Guru” (unreleased, New Morning)
06 “Country Pie” (alternate version, Nashville Skyline)
07 “I’ll Be Your Baby Tonight” (Live With the Band, Isle Of Wight 1969)
08 “Highway 61 Revisited” (Live With the Band, Isle Of Wight 1969)
09 “Copper Kettle” (without overdubs, Self Portrait)
10 “Bring Me a Little Water” (unreleased, New Morning)
11 “Sign on the Window” (with orchestral overdubs, New Morning)
12 “Tattle O’Day” (unreleased, Self Portrait)
13 “If Dogs Run Free” (alternate version, New Morning)
14 “New Morning” (with horn section overdubs, New Morning)
15 “Went to See the Gypsy” (alternate version, New Morning)
16 “Belle Isle” (without overdubs, Self Portrait)
17 “Time Passes Slowly #2” (alternate version, New Morning)
18 “When I Paint My Masterpiece” (demo)

Bob Dylan & the Band at Isle of Wight – August 31st, 1969

01 “She Belongs to Me”
02 “I Threw It All Away”
03 “Maggie’s Farm”
04 “Wild Mountain Thyme”
05 “It Ain’t Me, Babe”
06 “To Ramona”/”Mr. Tambourine Man”
07 “I Dreamed I Saw St. Augustine”
08 “Lay Lady Lay”
09 “Highway 61 Revisited”
10 “One Too Many Mornings”
11 “I Pity the Poor Immigrant”
12 “Like a Rolling Stone”
13 “I’ll Be Your Baby Tonight”
14 “Quinn the Eskimo (The Mighty Quinn)”
15 “Minstrel Boy”
16 “Rainy Day Women #12 & 35”



Share Tweet