Right, who’s been good this year?

On classic albums like Into The Unknown and No Control, Los Angeles punk/hardcore heroes Bad Religion pushed a brand of raging hard rock with a well-refined melodic sensibility – but you’d never describe their output as particularly festive. As it happens, the band have knocked out carols in their live sets for years, and they’re set to indulge their Yuletide proclivities with that punk rock staple, the Christmas album.

Among the festive numbers getting the punk treatment on the set: ‘Hark! The Herald Angels Sing’; ‘O Come All Ye Faithful’; ‘Little Drummer Boy’; and ‘White Christmas’. The album will also include a new mix of the band’s nominally Christmassy 1993 track ‘American Jesus’, courtesy of Andy Wallace.

Christmas Songs is due on Epitaph Records on October 29 (cue grumbles about the Christmas rush getting earlier every year, etc., etc.). Bad Religion’s most recent album was this year’s True North.

1. “Hark! The Herald Angels Sing”
2. “O Come All Ye Faithful”
3. “O Come, O Come Emmanuel”
4. “White Christmas”
5. “Little Drummer Boy”
6. “God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen”
7. “What Child Is This?”
8. “Angels We Have Heard On High”
9. “American Jesus” (Andy Wallace Mix)

[via Slicing Up Eyeballs]



Share Tweet