A festive affair with Mary.

Winter must be drawing in – here’s the third Christmas album we’ve announced this month, after unexpected seasonal offerings from Bad Religion and Erasure. This time, it’s R&B diva Mary J. Blige who’s recorded an album of classic holiday tunes. She’s called it A Mary Christmas, obviously.

Judging by the tracklist, it’s a pretty orthodox affair – ‘When You Wish Upon A Star’, ‘The First Noel’, ‘Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas’ and similarly tried and true seasonal sing-alongs – but it does feature a handful of special guests, including big-lunged British chart-botherer Jessie J on ‘Do You Hear What I Hear’, plus Marc Anthony, The Clark Sisters and the one and only Barbra Streisand.

The album was produced by David Foster, who is responsible for a string of zillion-selling festive albums by Michael Bublé, Celine Dion and similar.

“The past few months have been such an amazing time for me, the highlight being my work with David Foster,” said Blige, who earlier this year was hit with a $3.4 million tax bill. “I am so fortunate to have had the opportunity to make this soulful and classic Christmas album with David. David’s music has touched so many talented artists and I am grateful to be a part of this collaboration.” [via Rap-Up]

A Mary Christmas is out on October 15 on Verve. Hear a snippet below and check the tracklist underneath:


01 Little Drummer Boy
02 Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas
03 My Favorite Things
04 This Christmas
05 The Christmas Song
06 Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer
07 When You Wish Upon a Star – duet with Barbra Streisand
08 Winter Wonderland
09 Do You Hear What I Hear – Duet with Jessie J
10 Petit Papa Noel
11 The First Noel – duet with The Clark Sisters
12 Noche de Paz – duet with Marc Anthony



Share Tweet