Yancey Boys is the collaborative moniker of the late, great J Dilla‘s younger brother Illa J and regular collaborator Frank Nitt (of Frank N Dank), and their debut album has finally been revealed.

Unsurprisingly, the duo have managed to amass a formidable selection of collaborators eager to show their appreciation, and over the course of the album’s fourteen tracks there are a massive eighteen guest appearances. This is no doubt thanks to the album being backed by a selection of beats from Dilla himself, and if the Common-featuring first single ‘Quicksand‘ is anything to go by it’s a winning formula.

Sunset Blvd. can be pre-ordered now from iTunes and will be released on October 29 via Delicious Vinyl.


01 Dilltro (feat. Dank)
02 Fisherman (feat. J Rocc, Vice & Detroit Serious)
03 Lovin’ U (feat. Eric Roberson)
04 Go and Ask the DJ (feat. Guilty Simpson & J Rocc)
05 Jeep Volume (feat. T3 & C-Minus)
06 Flowers (feat. Talib Kweli, Niko Gray & Rhettmatic)
07 Honk Ya Horn (feat. J. Pinder)
08 Slippin’ (feat. Early Mac)
09 Without Wings
10 Beautiful (feat. Posdnuos & Botni Applebum)
11 Quicksand (feat. Common & Delzi Paige)
12 Rock My World (feat. SlimKid3 & Niko Gray)
13 The Throwaway
14 This Evening



Share Tweet