Shabazz Palaces to release early EPs on vinyl for the first time

The Sub Pop-signed leftfield hip hop act finally issue their self-released debut EPs on vinyl.

Fronted by Ishmael Butler (formerly known as ‘Butterfly’ in the Daisy Age hip hop crew Digable Planets) and multi-instrumentalist Tendai Maraire, Shabazz Palaces were behind one of the most imaginative hip hop albums in 2011, the mysterious and arkestral Black Up. But back in 2009, before they’d signed to Seattle label Sub Pop, the group’s first two EPs appeared anonymously under the titles Eagles Soar, Oil Flows and The Seven New.

Better known as Shabazz Palaces and Of Light, the EPs were originally available as CD and download only, but now they’re set to be pressed up for the first time by the Templar Label Group, with the former on red vinyl and the latter on green vinyl (see pictures below). They’re both available to order now.

Earlier this year, Sub Pop wisely hired Butler to its A&R team to help dig out new talent. The group’s second studio album is currently in the works. [via Potholes In My BlogThe Vinyl Factory]

Listen to ‘Gunbeat Falls’ from Of Light below:





Share Tweet