David Rodigan next to mix Ministry of Sound's Masterpiece series

The Ram Jam boss is next up in the series.

Legendary British reggae selector David Rodigan has been named to mix the next compilation in Ministry of Sound’s Masterpiece series, which sees artists and DJs curating a three-disc journey through their own influences and personal favourites.

Rodigan’s Masterpiece, which follows Carl Craig’s contribution back in June, charts Rodigan’s own journey as a deejay, beginning as a fan of ’60s pop and soul and passing through four decades of Jamaican music, from ska and rocksteady to reggae, dub and dancehall and the roots revival.

Though it’s not the first compilation Rodigan’s put together in recent years – his wicked Fabriclive mix being another – he describes the Masterpiece selection as “a reflection of my life musically, including both the things I grew up listening to and the things I am currently enjoying.”

A selection of the tracks will also be available as a 7″ vinyl boxset featuring exclusive notes from Rodigan on what each track means to him, as well as a custom made dink (a tool for enlarging the hole in a record) with his signature. Masterpiece by David Rodigan is out through Ministry of Sound on January 27, 2014.

Catch up with Rodigan’s FACT mix from earlier this year and watch FACT TV’s three part interview with reggae’s premier broadcaster, hosted by Wrongtom.


CD1: Hey Youthman
01. The Kinks – You Really Got Me
02. The Yardbirds – For Your Love
03. Marvin Gaye – Ain’t That Peculiar
04. The Impressions – Gypsy Woman
05. James Brown & The Famous Flames – I Loves You Porgy
06. Etta James – At Last
07. The Tornadoes – Telstar
08. Small Faces – Itchycoo Park
09. Dusty Springfield – You Don’t Have To Say You Love Me
10. Bessie Banks – Go Now
11. Aaron Neville – Tell It Like It Is
12. Jet Harris & Tony Meehan – Diamonds
13. Justin Hinds & The Dominos – Carry Go Bring Come
14. Desmond Dekker – Beautiful And Dangerous
15. Alton Ellis – Black Man’s Pride
16. Bob Marley & The Wailers – Small Axe
17. Delroy Wilson – Love Uprising
18. Augustus Pablo – Java

CD2: Cool Out Son
01. Dennis Brown – My Time
02. Bob Andy – Life
03. The Heptones – Meaning Of Life
04. The Abyssinians – Poor Jason Whyte
05. Freddie McGregor – Big Ship
06. Johnny Osbourne & The Sensations – See And Blind
07. Brent Dowe – When The Sun Goes
08. Jackie Edwards & Julie Anne – In Paradise
09. Cornell Campbell – Harry Hippy
10. Lloyd Charmers – Colour Him Father
11. Tessanne Chin – You Got What I Need
12. Etana – Reggae
13. Tarrus Riley feat. Winston ‘Mr Fix It’ Francis – Hurt Me
14. Aswad – Back To Africa
15. Astrud Gilberto – (Take Me To) Aruanda
16. Arthur Prysock – Autumn In New York
17. Garnet Mimms & The Enchanters – A Quiet Place
18. Billy Stewart – Sitting In The Park

CD3: Stepping Out of Babylon
01. Lee “Scratch” Perry and The Upsetters – Black Panta
02. Marcia Griffiths – Stepping Out Of Babylon
03. Damian “Jr. Gong” Marley – One Loaf Of Bread (Something For You)
04. Luciano – Deliverance
05. Exco Levi – Storms Of Life
06. Nadine Sutherland – Karma
07. Riva Starr feat. Bob Andy – The Care Song
08. Amy Winehouse – You’re Wondering Now
09. Liam Bailey – When Will They Learn
10. Cate Ferris – Blaze Bright
11. Beres Hammond – No Candlelight
12. Ini Kamoze – England Be Nice
13. Raging Fyah – Nah Look Back
14. King Tubby & Johnny Clarke – Knock Out Punch
15. Busy Signal – Modern Day Slavery
16. Morgan Heritage – Stand Up
17. The Lee Thompson Ska Orchestra feat. Bitty McLean – Fu Man Chu
18. Paul S.C.U.B.I Smith – Word Smith



Share Tweet