Italian techno Lucy announces second album, <em>Churches Schools and Guns</em>

The Italian techno producer will drift down the Styx once again on his second solo album.

When Lucy‘s Wordplay for Working Bees dropped in 2011, we dubbed it “one of the most probing and artfully constructed techno albums of the year so far.” Its mix of oblique, delicately assembled dub techno beats and blanched samples proved highly evocative, and it still stands out as our favourite full-length release on Lucy’s (occcasionally punishingly austere) Stroboscopic Artefacts imprint.

In 2013, Lucy’s contributed to Bleep’s artsy Green Series, and his side gig with techno old-timer Speedy J, Zeitgeiber, also dropped their dark but diverse debut album. Stroboscopic Artefacts have now confirmed that a new Lucy full-length will follow suit in 2014.

The new album comes with the rather grand title Churches Schools and Guns, and is due in February. The 12-track LP promises a renewed emphasis on experimentation, with “misdirection and unpredictability” apparently at the heart of Lucy’s compositional practice. As ever with Stroboscopic Artefacts, mastering will be handled by Stroboscopic Artefacts regulars Dadub.

Churches Schools and Guns is due on February 17 on 3xLP, CD and digital.

1. The Horror
2. Leave Us Alone
3. The Self As Another
4. Human Triage
5. Laws and Habits
6. Follow The Leader
7. Catch Twenty Two
8. The Illusion Of Choice
9. We Live As We Dream
10. All That Noise
11. The Best Selling Show
12. Falling feat. Emme



Share Tweet